Using library to deal with I2C sensors and EV3

HomeForumsMonoBrick Communication LibraryUsing library to deal with I2C sensors and EV3

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Author Image
    Pascal
    Participant

Hi,

I browsed the forum, but didn’t seem to find any topic about controlling I2C sensors connected to EV3 brick.

I’m a senior programmer, and I wrote a .NET software on my PC to make my bot autonomous, taking complex decisions, this software also allows me to control the bot using voice.

In the first time, I use the legoev3 library (C#), but I would like to add third party sensors like LightSensorArray from mindsensors and RFID reader from codatex, and this library doesn’t handle I2C sensors.
    I try your communication library, but it seems there is the same issue.

My question is : how can I have access (read and write) to I2C sensors from my PC app (using Bluetooth) ?
    Basically I see two solutions :
    – to use a library which provides a way to communicate with I2C sensors (does the monobrick communication library fits ?)
    – to use your firmware on a sd card, upload a EV3 program which deals with I2C sensors, but it must be able to send and receive data to the PC app (besides does your firmware handle bluetooth ?)

I’m a bit lost, accessing I2C sensors seems a bit tricky.

Thanks for any tips

Pascal

Author Image
    Anders Søborg
    Keymaster

Hi

Have a look at this file and the sensor class. The file also shows how the Ultra Sonic sensor for both the NXT and EV3 is implemented. It should be possible to get the your I2C sensor working if the sensor is supported by the standard firmware.

I hope this will get your started.

/Anders

Author Image
    Pascal
    Participant

Thanks Anders,

I had a look at this file, the only function that seems useful is ‘Setup’, but I can’t manage it to work.
    The ultraSonic Sensor seems to be a ‘classic’ sensor (only derives from sensor, with no particularities).