Problem while setting up MonoBrick

HomeForumsMonoBrick Communication LibraryProblem while setting up MonoBrick

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Author Image
    ramacc0 .
    Participant

Hey all,

I’m new to using MonoBrick and I’m having trouble running my first program. I have installed Xamarin Studio as wel as the 3 Mono development files. Afterwards I downloaded the testproject from the monobrick.dk website and copied the example code for people who are using USB, since I don’t have a wifi dongle. I also have installed the image of mono brick on a 4gb SD card and that seems to boot up on the EV3.

I have included a print screen of the message that I get from the terminal when trying to compile in Xamarin Studio.

Hopefully anyone can help, as I’m eager to start developing with mono brick.

Regards,
    Ramacco

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Author Image
    Anders Søborg
    Keymaster

Hi

I think that you are mixing the Monobrick firmware and the communication library… they are two different things….

Communication library: Let’s you control the NXT/EV3 over Blutooth, USB and network and works with the standard firmware.

MonoBrick firmware: is a firmware replacement for the EV3

Anders

Author Image
    ramacc0 .
    Participant

Hi,

I figured last night that you have to use the standard firmware (read it somewhere on this forum). So, after downloading the testprogram again, I tried to run it via usb, but I got exact the same error message.

I used this program and in the attachement you can see the imported files in Xamarin Studio

using System;
    using MonoBrick.EV3;

namespace ev3
    {
    class MainClass
    {
    public static void Main (string[] args)
    {

var ev3 = new Brick<Sensor,Sensor,Sensor,Sensor>(“usb”);

try{
    ev3.Connection.Open();
    ev3.MotorA.On(50);
    System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(3000);
    ev3.MotorA.Off();
    }
    catch(Exception e){