Preparations for GyroBot

HomeForumsMonoBrick EV3 FirmwarePreparations for GyroBot

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Author Image
    Martin Wagner
    Participant

Hi everybody,

I have built the GyroBoy mechanically
    http://robotsquare.com/2013/10/01/education-ev3-45544-instruction/ (via Laurens’ pages)
    and downloaded and adapted the mindstorm program from
    http://forums.usfirst.org/showthread.php?20729-Gyro-Boy-Program (thanks Dean)
    It runs okay and I want to rebuild a MonoBrick version (in my dreams I am using the tilt angles of my android-phone to control it 😉 ). It will need a tight control loop for the balancing and shall be as responsive as possible to user commands and for displaying information.

Before starting, I read a lot about threads, tasks, … since I am new in this part of the programming world. I want to reuse as many of the standard .Net features and I am not fully familiar yet with the features of the monobrick dll. I hope to raise an interesting discussion with this suggestion:

One thread with high priority has a continuous loop which performs the measuring and controlling and then waits for an autoresetevent which is triggered by a timer. Thus, the thread creation overhead is only relevant in the beginning. Fortunately system.timers.timer has a better resolution on the brick (2-5ms) than on windows (ca. 16ms). All other activities are handled in one (ore more) standard thread(s) with normal priority with button events, message events, … This thread also holds display handling (e.g. variation in cycle times, remaining idle time, …).

Comments:
    Modern (DotNet4-)features like thread pools and tasks do not allow to influence thread priorities, which seems a good way to guarantuee enough CPU time for the control loop. E.g. the control loop shall interrupt an ongoing display routine.